top of page

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

Traditionally modern.

Hello everyone! I do not have small eyes nor do I specialize in making momos (FYI they aren't my staple food). Nevertheless, fact remains that I am an Assamese, a proud northeastern. And of course I love representing my state and my 'region'. This thought inspired me to create this blog post with a beautiful fusion of traditional and modern aspects. The Assamese Mekhela Sador (or chador) is a two-piece attire worn like an Indian saree, except that it has two parts - the 'Mekhela' wrapped around the waist and the 'sador' wrapped around the shoulder on one side like a saree pallu. These mekhela sadors are usually made with Muga Silk, Pat Silk, Eri Silk and cotton. I chose cotton mekhelas weaved with tribal northeastern designs to create two dresses with contemporary silhouettes. I hope you like my ideas and get inspired to create something infusing your culture and your personal style :) No.1 : Dress Type: Midi Description: A red midi dress featuring three quarter sleeves with cut-outs on each side and multicolour weaves in the hemline, both at the front and back. Weave: Mising weave (mekhela) Sandals : Max Fashions India

Dress no.2

Dress Type: Maxi Description: A black maxi dress featuring three quarter sleeves and multicolour weaves in the bodice, both at the front and back. Weave: Fusion tribal weave (mekhela) Accessories: Pom-pom earrings used as maang-tikka (Krafted with Happiness) Sandals : Max Fashions India

So that's it for this one! I hope this unique fusion inspired you guys too. Would love hearing what you feel in the comments. Till the next one, as I always say : Stay trendy and stylish, but most importantly stay 'YOU' Much love :* Photographed by: Anannya Boruah

bottom of page